paper-plane envelope home office pencil quill pen image images camera play bullhorn connection mic file-text2 file-picture file-music file-play file-video copy folder folder-open folder-plus folder-minus folder-download folder-upload price-tag price-tags ticket phone envelop pushpin location compass map map2 clock alarm fax mobile bubble bubbles user users user-plus user-minus user-check quotes-left quotes-right search pie-chart stats-dots stats-bars airplane cloud-download cloud-upload earth link flag eye eye-blocked arrow-up-left arrow-up arrow-up-right arrow-right arrow-down-right arrow-down arrow-down-left arrow-left2 share amazon google-plus google-drive facebook instagram twitter rss youtube flickr dropbox linkedin file-pdf file-openoffice file-word file-excel

Nanoengineered Systems Lab


Joined UCL: 2018

Prof. Renato Cotta

  • Leverhulme Professor, UCL Mechanical Engineering (primary host Professor Stavroula Balabani)
  • Dept Mechanical Engineering


BSc on Mechanical/Nuclear Engineering, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ), Brazil, 1981, and Ph.D. in Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, North Carolina State University (NCSU), USA, 1985. Joined the Mechanical Eng. Dept., Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, in 1987, becoming Full Professor in 1997. Author of around 500 technical papers, 9 books, and supervisor of 82 PhD and MSc thesis. Honorary Editorial Board of various journals, such as International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer, International Journal of Thermal Sciences, International Journal of Numerical Methods in Heat & Fluid Flow, and Computational Thermal Sciences. Regional Editor of High Temperatures–High Pressures journal, and Associate Editor of the Annals of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences. President of Brazilian Association of Mechanical Sciences, ABCM, 2000-2001, Member of Scientific Council of the International Centre for Heat and Mass Transfer, since 1993, Executive Committee of ICHMT since 2006, presently EC Chairman, Congress Committee member of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM) since 2012, and Executive Committee member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences from 2012-2015. Recipient of the ICHMT Hartnett-Irvine Award in 2009 and 2015, elected member of the National Order of Scientific Merit, Brazil, 2009, and of the National Order of Naval Merit, Brazil, 2018. Elected member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (ABC), 2009, National Engineering Academy (ANE), Brazil, 2011, and the World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Trieste, Italy, 2012. Adjunct Professor, University of Miami, USA, 1993-2005, and Doctor Honoris Causa, Université de Reims Champagne-Ardennes (URCA), France, 2018. President of the National Commission of Nuclear Energy, CNEN/Brazil, 2015-2017. Senior Consultant, General Directorate for Nuclear and Technological Development, Brazilian Navy, since April 2017. Presently, Visiting Professorship (Leverhulme Trust Fund) at the Mechanical Eng. Dept., University College London, UK.

Back to top