paper-plane envelope home office pencil quill pen image images camera play bullhorn connection mic file-text2 file-picture file-music file-play file-video copy folder folder-open folder-plus folder-minus folder-download folder-upload price-tag price-tags ticket phone envelop pushpin location compass map map2 clock alarm fax mobile bubble bubbles user users user-plus user-minus user-check quotes-left quotes-right search pie-chart stats-dots stats-bars airplane cloud-download cloud-upload earth link flag eye eye-blocked arrow-up-left arrow-up arrow-up-right arrow-right arrow-down-right arrow-down arrow-down-left arrow-left2 share amazon google-plus google-drive facebook instagram twitter rss youtube flickr dropbox linkedin file-pdf file-openoffice file-word file-excel
XClose

UCL Mechanical Engineering
Faculty of Engineering Sciences

Home
Menu

Professional Services

Administrative and Technical Staff

UCL Mechanical Engineering's degree programmes and research activities are supported by the professional services staff in our Administration and Technical Teams.

Special notice

Please note that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, staff at UCL Mechanical Engineering are working remotely-by-default for the coming weeks.

While we are still happy to respond to queries via email during normal office hours, our office telephone numbers will not be answered during this period, nor will we be responding to any voice mail messages.

In addition to email contact, UCL colleagues may contact us via Microsoft Teams.

Professional services staff at UCL Mechanical Engineering

Departmental Manager

Claire Bamford

Claire manages the professional services team and departmental resources such as human resources, administration, finance, security and IT.

Mr Peter Kelly - Departmental Superintendent UCL MechEng

Email:
c.bamford@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 7679 3678
Telephone (Internal):
33678

Receptionist

Luke Kelly

Luke is the first point of contact for any enquiries about the department.

Email:
luke.kelly@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 7679 7062
Telephone (Internal):
37062

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator

Rachel Smith

Rachel manages the Teaching and Learning Team and is responsible for the administration of the department’s degree programmes.

Rachel M Smith,

Email:
r.m.smith@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 3108 1346
Telephone (Internal):
51346

Teaching and Learning Administrator (Postgraduate Taught)

Estelle Cossin

Estelle is the first point of contact for our postgraduate taught programmes – including marking, exams and projects.

Estelle Cossin

Email:
mecheng.pg-queries@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 7679 3907
Telephone (Internal):
33907

Teaching and Learning Administrator (Undergraduate - Years 1 & 2)

Amy Gent

Amy answers undergraduate related enquiries – including marking, exams and progression in relation to first and second year students.

Amy Gent

 

Email:
mecheng.ug-queries@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 3108 1520
Telephone (Internal):
51520

Teaching and Learning Administrator (Undergraduate - Years 3 & 4)

Lucy Raney

Lucy can answer all undergraduate related enquiries for third and fourth year students – including marking, exams and progression.

Email:
mecheng.ug-queries@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 7679 7178
Telephone (Internal):
37178

Teaching and Learning Administrator (Short Courses and Teaching Planning)

Duane Rodney

Duane is the first point of contact for short course related enquiries (including MTEC and Submarine Design) as well as PGTA recruitment and attendance monitoring for our programmes.

Email:
duane.rodney@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 7679 7719
Telephone (Internal):
37719

Communications, Marketing and Events Manager

Mykal Riley

Mykal heads web presence, departmental news, media queries, communications, marketing and events.

mykal-riley-web

Email:
mykal.riley@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 3108 1347
Telephone (Internal):
51347

Communications, Marketing and Events Officer

Rosie Curtis

Rosie Curtis

Senior Staffing and Resources Officer

Varun Lobo

Varun Lobo

 

Resources & Postgraduate Research Administrator

Monique Conybeare

Monique assists with the Department’s HR procedures, postgraduate research programme, and supports the finance team.

Email:
m.conybeare@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 3108 4082
Telephone (internal):
54082

Personal Assistant to the Head of Department

Josie Bristow

Josie is the first point of contact to reach our Head of Department.

Email:
mecheng.pa@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 7679 3908
Telephone (Internal):
33908

Senior Finance Administrator (Research and Contracts) 

Alexandra Grimova

Alexandra administers the finances of contracts and department research grants, and manages the finance team.

Alexandra Grimova

Email:
a.grimova@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 7679 3909
Telephone (Internal):
33909

Research & Enterprise Administrator

Philip Ross

Philip assists with budget planning and monitors research project costings.

Email:
philip.ross@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 3108 4129
Telephone (Internal):
54129

Procurement Administrator

Edward Drinkwater

Edward mainly processes orders but also deals with expense claims.

Email:
mecheng.finance@ucl.ac.uk
Internal:
33871
External:
02076793871

Assistant Finance & Resources Administrator

Vacant

 

Industry Outreach & Business Relationship Administrator

Valerie Govia

Valerie coordinates student placements for projects and works closely with enterprise on events and activities for UCL.

portrait of Valerie Govia, industrial liaison

Email:
v.govia@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 3108 1519
Telephone (Internal):
51519

Departmental IT Manager

Mark Iline

Mark manages the departments IT provision.

Email:
m.iline@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone (Internal):
51651

Assistant IT Manager

David Bevan

David supports and provides IT services.

Email:
mecheng.it-support@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone (Internal):
51651

Project and Network Manager

Vacant

This post is the contact point for the group (Materials Structures and Manufacturing – MSM@H). They are also the Network Manager of the exciting new MRC/BBSRC/EPSRC Technology Touching Life Network on Imaging Dynamic Biochemical and Biophysical Processes.

 

Email:
Telephone:

Technical team

Departmental Technician & Infrastructure Manager

Peter Kelly

Peter manages the technical teams in the department, including the technicians based in our Roberts Engineering Building workshops, the MechSpace students hub in King’s Cross and our Safety Services activity.

Mr Peter Kelly - Departmenatl Superintendent

 

Email:
ucempke@ucl.ac.uk
Telephone:
020 7679 2943
Telephone (Internal):
32943

Technical Support Staff (Bloomsbury Campus)

Name & Title
Contact Details
Mr Samuel Atack
Departmental Safety Officer
s.atack@ucl.ac.uk
Mr Neil Collings
Technician
n.collings@ucl.ac.uk
tel: 020 7679 0473 (direct)
internal: x30473
Mr Kevin Crowley
Technician
k.crowley@ucl.ac.uk
tel: 020 7679 0473 (direct)
internal: x30473
Vacant
Cleanroom Technician
Mr James Howe
Technician
tel: 020 7679 3842 (direct)
internal: x33842
Mr Phil Jeavons
Technical Lead
p.jeavons@ucl.ac.uk
tel: 020 7679 0471 (direct)
internal: x30471
I-deas help, CAD images, VRML files.
Mr Kee Lam
Technician
k.lam@ucl.ac.uk 
tel: 020 7679 0473 (direct)
internal: x30471
Mr Juan Leal
Technician
juan.leal@ucl.ac.uk 
Mr Douglas J Thomson
Technician
douglas.thomson@ucl.ac.uk
tel: 020 7679 0473 (direct)
internal: x30471

 

Technical Support Staff (MechSpace)

MechEng students working on designs at MechSpace

 

Name & Title
Contact Details
Mr James Weaver
MechSpace Manager
 j.weaver@ucl.ac.uk
tel: (+44) 020 8075 6367
Mr Tom Rushton
Teaching Workshop Technician
 t.rushton@ucl.ac.uk 
tel: (+44) 020 8075 6367
Mr Philip Sessions
Teaching Workshop Technician
 p.sessions@ucl.ac.uk  
tel: (+44) 020 8075 6367

 

Back to top